Maa(Mother)Durga in Nine Forms of Goddess “Navadurgā”

Maa(Mother)Durga in Nine Forms of Goddess “Navdurgā”

Navdurga is worshiped during Navaratri. Nava stands for Nine and Ratri stands for nights. Figure of Nine spiritual significance in HINDUS, Like nine leaves, nine herbs, nine plants, and nine planets. Navdurga literally means “ nine forms of Goddess Durga”, according to Vedas, the nine different forms of Goddess Durgāsymbolize the nine aspects, They areŚhailaputrī, Brahmachāriṇī, Chandrakaṇṭā, Kuṣhmāṇḍā, Skandamātā, Kātyāyanī, Kālarātrī, Mahāgaurī, and Siddhidātrī–These different aspects of Goddess together worshipped during the Nine Divine Nights. Each form of Maahave different significance. It is believed that if anyone worships Nava Durgā with full devotion and religiously will fulfill all its desires and dreams.

According to Vedas Goddess Durgā is a symbol of power. During these NavratriMaaDurgais worshipped in nine different forms and so the termed Nava-durgāorigined. Each form of manifestation NavDurgā is worshipped with full religiously and devotionally during Navarātri. The nine Navdurga are called in nine different names as under;

1.) SAILAPUTRI –known as Daughter of the Himālayas.

2.) BRAHMACHARIṆI- Known for the state of celibacy doing penance.

3.) CHANDRAGHAṆṬA- carry the moon in her necklace.

4.) KUṢMAṆḌA –known as the creator of the universe.

5.) SKANDAMATA-also known as the mother of Skanda, Kārttikeya,who said to be  born out of her powers.

6.) KATYAYANI-known as the daughter of Rishi (sage)Kātyāyana, created to help all the Goddess.

7.) KALARATRI- signify as black as night who destroyer of darkness.

8.) MAHAGAURI –know as the wife of Lord Shiva.

9.) SIDDHIDATRI –one who provides Siddhis( mystic powers).

The above name are nine forms of MaaDurgāworshiped during Navratri among the nine forms the first Goddess is;


During Navaratri, nine nights is celebrated in the name of Maadurga  and the very first form (avatar) is Shailaputri, known as the “daughter of the mountains.” Similarly called  as Parvati, Hemavati or Sati Bhavani, daughter of Hemavana (Himalayas). Shailaputri known as the lord of purity and the Mother Nature. Image of Shailaputri is shown as riding on a bull and in hand holding a trident and a lotus. Lotus signifies the purity and devotion, while trident represent the past, present, and future. So, the worship of Navdurga is began with Maa Shailaputri.